First time poster, can you check my setup?

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

hungyzerglin

First time poster, can you check my setup?

Post by hungyzerglin »

This is my first time setting up and using the SMP F@H client, previously I used the single CPU version (for like a week before reading about the SMP client). My system specs are AMD 1090T, Radeon 6850, 8GB DDR3 (included in images below). Currently I'm using the latest beta SMP client (6.34). Couple questions for you guys:

1) I have the flags -SMP 6 -advmethods -verbosity 9 set. After reading mixed reviews on -forceasm, should I include this flag as well (also is -forceSSE no longer a working flag for AMD chips)?
2) I understand -bigadv seems to work only on Intel i7 CPUs, I can only use this flag if I emulate an 8 core VM?.
3) Are -SMP 6 and SMP pretty much the same for my cpu (I guess I should run -SMP 5 if I want to run a GPU client)?
4) I haven't folded very much (probably less than 2 WU), so my PPD with HFM shows only about 600-800PPD. This will increase once I've completed like 7-8 WU right?
5) Aside from the above flags, is there anything I am missing that will help increase my folding?

Thanks for your time in reading all that.

ImageImage
patonb
Hardware configuration: WooHoo= SR-2 -- L5639 @ ?? -- Evga 560ti FPB -- 12Gig Corsair XMS3 -- Corsair 1050hx -- Blackhawk Ultra

Foldie = @3.2Ghz -- Noctua NH-U12 -- BFG GTX 260-216 -- 6Gig OCZ Gold -- x58a-ud3r -- 6Gig OCZ Gold -- hx520

Re: First time poster, can you check my setup?

Post by patonb »

You seem to still be running a unicore unit. You'll need to let this one finish and see if it will pick up an a3 core, but it looks okay.
WooHoo = L5639 @ 3.3Ghz Evga SR-2 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 CM 212+ Corsair 1050hx Blackhawk Ultra EVGA 560ti

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz x58a-ud3r 216-216 @ 850/2000 3x2gb OCZ Gold NH-u12 Heatsink Corsair hx520 Antec 900