GPU or SMP for the new client?

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

DrCoras

GPU or SMP for the new client?

Post by DrCoras »

Hi there!

I am a little new to the details of this and everything was moving very slowly for me, but it all seemed confusing as to installations and GPU and SMP clients. I also didn't understand the tags, etc.

I have installed the new beta v7 F@H client and it is working great, but suring setup it asked me if I wanted to run SMP or GPU or Uniprocessor. Now, I was looking for the biggest returns as far as most work done in shortest amount of time, and I chose GPU, but I am not sure how to check what the SMP would do.

I don't know what info is needed, but my basic hardware is:

core i5-2500k [edited]
8GB ram
ati 6870

And while this PC is great for everything I have tried with it so far, I do not know which of the options would be my best bet. I have seen mentions of people running multiple clients, but considering the problems I was having getting just 1 client to run, that option scares me a little.

I am sorry if this is not the right place for this, but I have read tons of threads and since I am not getting any closer to understanding, everything is sort of jumbling together now. Thanks for any help you can give, I appreciate it.

DrCoras
Zagen30
Hardware configuration: Core i7 3770K @3.5 GHz (not folding), 8 GB DDR3 @2133 MHz, 2xGTX 780 @1215 MHz, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit running 7.3.6 w/ 1xSMP, 2xGPU

4P E5-4650 @3.1 GHz, 64 GB DDR3 @1333MHz, Ubuntu Desktop 13.10 64-bit

Re: GPU or SMP for the new client?

Post by Zagen30 »

Welcome to the forum, DrCoras.