I am a noob here, hope you guys can help!

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Music Guy123

I am a noob here, hope you guys can help!

Post by Music Guy123 »

Hi there,

I have tried to do a bit of research and am still dead confused! I am quite good hardware wise for a pc but software is hit or miss! I vaguely know what a client is but if someone explain it to me, it would be much appreciated. Also, what else do I have to do to setup.

Right, now after some thinking my main aim is to get my school to do this, there are tonnes of CPUs sitting around my school being left of overnight which could do something. The only problem might be is that half of the PCs are logged off. Can fah run with a pc logged off? Also, half of the school runs of servers, I think the servers are 12 core dell opteron or whatever the name is. Is it possible to put fah on one of these?

However, before I go to my school with the idea, I will need to understand it all myself. I will also need to try it. I don't have a very good laptop but it is alright and does get left on occasionally. It had an AMD turion m500 dual core @2.2ghz in it. It does get left on through dog walks which are an hour and a half and other time periods, how long does it take to complete one 'thing'? Sorry for my lack of knowledge here! What client do you suggest I install for my laptop?

Next thing, can someone explain what the pcs are being used for? Am I right in saying it is to do with the folding of proteins like DNA when it reproduces?

I hope this isn't too confusing, and someone can help me out! Any help would be much appreciated and I apologise for my noobyness!

Music Guy
Music Guy123

Re: I am a noob here, hope you guys can help!

Post by Music Guy123 »