Pause CPU separate/independent of GPU

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

jchang6
Hardware configuration: Intel Xeon E3/E5, various generations from Westmere to Skylake. AMD Radeon RX5x00 and nVidia RTX 2080 Super.

Pause CPU separate/independent of GPU

Post by jchang6 »

I have several systems with supported GPU. There times I would like (nearly) full CPU for other tasks, that should not put much if any load on the GPU. I notice that on setting Folding Power to Light, the CPU uses half of the logical processor, and the FaH pauses activity on GPU whenever there is even the slightest screen activity?
I am a developer, so I occasionally need full CPU for my work, but rarely generate even the tiniest blip on the GPU.
I am running FaH 7.6.13, Windows 10 2004, Intel Xeon E3/E5 (various gen from Haswell to Skylake), and a mix of AMD Radeon RX5600 and nVidia GTX 2080 Supers.
bikeaddict

Re: Pause CPU separate/independent of GPU

Post by bikeaddict »

In FAHControl, the CPU and GPU slots can be paused independently. If you right click on the cpu row in the Folding Slots section at upper left, there is a menu item to pause the slot. It can also be set to On Idle. Then it can be restarted by right clicking and selecting Fold to resume or Finish to finish the work unit and pause.
jchang6
Hardware configuration: Intel Xeon E3/E5, various generations from Westmere to Skylake. AMD Radeon RX5x00 and nVidia RTX 2080 Super.

Post by jchang6 »

thanks, I have confirmed this works. This might need a different thread. Its getting hot now in Massachusetts. I just came across MSI Afterburner, which purportedly also allows lowering GPU power/temp? I am wondering if I can get a significant power reduction without giving up proportionate folding power? the 2080 Super is 2M PPD at 200W+ , what could I get for around 100W?
bikeaddict

Post by bikeaddict »