Page 1 of 2

FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11+]

Posted: Sun Oct 24, 2021 2:59 pm
by Piipperi
FAHControl is not connecting to my local client (macOS 11.6), except in rare cases when it does but it cuts out the connection very shortly after... I have tried to reinstall FAH already...

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 2:37 am
by calxalot
This is because of a bug in the installer. Two entries need to be added to the launchd plist. I will post a solution later tonight.

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 8:03 am
by calxalot
The following Terminal commands work for me on an M1 Mac mini, macOS 11.6.
The launchd unload command gives me an error message on my macOS 10.15 machine.

You need to have an admin account for sudo.

As usual, don't run terminal commands you don't understand.

Code: Select all

PLIST=/Library/LaunchDaemons/org.foldingathome.fahclient.plist
PLISTBUDDY=/usr/libexec/PlistBuddy

sudo $PLISTBUDDY -c "Add :ProcessType string 'Interactive'" $PLIST || \
sudo $PLISTBUDDY -c "Set :ProcessType 'Interactive'" $PLIST

sudo $PLISTBUDDY -c "Add :SessionCreate bool true" $PLIST || \
sudo $PLISTBUDDY -c "Set :SessionCreate true" $PLIST

sudo /bin/launchctl unload $PLIST
sudo /bin/launchctl load $PLIST

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2021 10:28 pm
by calxalot
Is this working for anyone, or is another solution needed?

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2021 6:56 am
by PaulTV
Your solution helped someone on discord at least :D

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2021 8:23 am
by eljonco
I ran these terminal commands in an attempt to gain more control over FAH on new Apple Silicon M1Max.
Then I ran them again (line by line) and twice got the message that the settings were already there (first time more'ing the plist didn't show them).
Then quit FAHControl and launched again. No joy.
Then stopped FAH, stopped the control and launched both. No joy.
The FAHControl doesn't progress beyond 'Connecting'.

MacOS Monterey 12.0.1, Apple M1 Max 10-core.

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2021 8:57 am
by calxalot
Please post your current plist.

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2021 9:34 am
by eljonco
BTW. I noticed my PowerBook i7 FAHControl also doesn't connect to client, M1 mac does.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>GroupName</key>
	<string>nobody</string>
	<key>KeepAlive</key>
	<true/>
	<key>Label</key>
	<string>org.foldingathome.fahclient</string>
	<key>LowPriorityIO</key>
	<true/>
	<key>ProcessType</key>
	<string>Interactive</string>
	<key>ProgramArguments</key>
	<array>
		<string>/usr/local/bin/FAHClient</string>
	</array>
	<key>RunAtLoad</key>
	<true/>
	<key>SessionCreate</key>
	<true/>
	<key>StandardOutPath</key>
	<string>/dev/null</string>
	<key>Umask</key>
	<integer>18</integer>
	<key>UserName</key>
	<string>nobody</string>
	<key>WorkingDirectory</key>
	<string>/Library/Application Support/FAHClient</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2021 9:41 am
by calxalot
I just uninstalled and reinstalled fah 7.6.21 on an M1 Mac mini running macOS 12.1.
I then ran the commands without error.
Things are working for me.

On an intel Mac running 10.15.7 I have seen errors with Launchctl load/unload, which are legacy commands.
If your plist is correct, you can restart your Mac to guarantee the revised plist is loaded.

My plist:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>GroupName</key>
	<string>nobody</string>
	<key>KeepAlive</key>
	<true/>
	<key>Label</key>
	<string>org.foldingathome.fahclient</string>
	<key>LowPriorityIO</key>
	<true/>
	<key>ProcessType</key>
	<string>Interactive</string>
	<key>ProgramArguments</key>
	<array>
		<string>/usr/local/bin/FAHClient</string>
	</array>
	<key>RunAtLoad</key>
	<true/>
	<key>SessionCreate</key>
	<true/>
	<key>StandardOutPath</key>
	<string>/dev/null</string>
	<key>Umask</key>
	<integer>18</integer>
	<key>UserName</key>
	<string>nobody</string>
	<key>WorkingDirectory</key>
	<string>/Library/Application Support/FAHClient</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2021 11:57 am
by eljonco
Our plist files are identical. Our hardware and OS'es differ.

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2022 5:36 pm
by earthsaver
I had no problem running FAHControl on my Intel Mac running Big Sur 11.6.2. However, I just migrated to a new M1 Mac running Monterey 12.1. Why my built-in firewall is enabled, I find that FAHControl only shows my folding progress and controls when FAH Web Control is loaded in a web browser. When the firewall is disabled, there are no problems with FAHControl connecting to the local client.

I've confirmed my config file has the local IP addresses and repeatedly uninstalled and reinstalled the client just to be sure. As a workaround, I created a Fluid app to keep the Web Control interface running, but I'd rather everything run naturally.
What's the easiest way to resolve this?

Here's my config file for reference:

Code: Select all

<config>
  <!-- HTTP Server -->
  <allow v='127.0.0.1,192.168.7.0/24'/>

  <!-- Network -->
  <proxy v=':8080'/>

  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1, 192.168.7.0/24'/>

  <!-- Slot Control -->
  <power v='FULL'/>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v='removed'/>
  <team v='1971'/>
  <user v='Earthsaver'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
</config>

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:15 pm
by calxalot
Your launchd plist needs ProcessType Interactive.

Please try the commands I posted earlier.

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client

Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2022 9:21 pm
by earthsaver
Thanks for this tip! Worked perfectly and I no longer have to rely on reloading the web client to make the local client work. This is on an M1 iMac running 12.2.1.
calxalot wrote:The following Terminal commands work for me on an M1 Mac mini, macOS 11.6.
Appreciate, too, the tip to reduce to Light, focusing on the 4 high performance cores.

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2022 10:25 pm
by randoPrime
calxalot wrote: Mon Oct 25, 2021 8:03 am The following Terminal commands work for me on an M1 Mac mini, macOS 11.6.
The launchd unload command gives me an error message on my macOS 10.15 machine.

You need to have an admin account for sudo.

As usual, don't run terminal commands you don't understand.

Code: Select all

PLIST=/Library/LaunchDaemons/org.foldingathome.fahclient.plist
PLISTBUDDY=/usr/libexec/PlistBuddy

sudo $PLISTBUDDY -c "Add :ProcessType string 'Interactive'" $PLIST
sudo $PLISTBUDDY -c "Add :SessionCreate bool true" $PLIST

sudo /bin/launchctl unload $PLIST
sudo /bin/launchctl load $PLIST
This straight up fixed my issue. Thank you and I am glad it worked!

Re: FAHControl is not connecting to my client [macOS 11]

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2023 8:40 pm
by LlamaLarry
NEVERMIND I just left FAHControl running while I ran some errands and by the time I came back it was Running and even reconnected me to my team.

Howdy, macOS Ventura here. Did a fresh install with a Migration Assistant from a Monterey TimeMachine backup. I just realized that FAH was not working, hung at Connecting Inactive. I did a uninstall and reinstall using the latest package, but no change. I added to two entries to my plist, but still no change.

FWIW, when I did a fresh install the setup website fails to connect and I never get prompted to re enter my team info to join. Any other tips?