Remote Server Options

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
SandyG
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:15 pm
Hardware configuration: 2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

[img]https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=1172112[/img]
Contact:

Remote Server Options

Post by SandyG »

Finally getting HFM working on my laptop and have a question related to setting up remote access to a bunch of linux boxes that are running FAH.

In the config help I found on the forum I found a couple of options that can be added to the config.xml on my linux boxes (20+) so want to just ssh in and update and restart. Only thing I can find is how to set a remote access password for the server. I don't have monitors on the 20+ Linux machine so ssh'ing is how I will set things up.

// From config.xml

<!-- Remote Command Server -->
<command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1 192.168.122.XXX/24'/>

// And found this by poking around in some of the forum, but in a log file, so guessing an option in config.xml??

<!-- Remote Command Server -->
<password v='*****'/>

But that is obviously just a placeholder for the real password (From a log file that I saw)

So the question is can I just set <password v='MyRealPassword'>in config.xml as clear text or do I need to do something else? I think config.xml on Linux is the place where it's set but not sure if it's clear text or not or need to run anything to gen the password.

Thanks

Sandy
2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

Image
PaulTV
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2021 4:53 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remote Server Options

Post by PaulTV »

You have the file you need - config.xml. The password is plain text - and it's the password used for remote access, it has nothing to do with the folding account passkey. You'll need to have the address range like 192.168.122.0/24 (instead of XXX).
Be sure to stop FAH Client (and any folding before stopping the client) before editing client.xml, then start FAH client again. The default boot / init script / service may not work for stopping, so be sure to check with ps -ef and kill if necessar.

My config.xml:

Code: Select all

<config>
  <!-- Client Control -->
  <fold-anon v='true'/>

  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
  <gpu v='false'/>

  <!-- HTTP Server -->
  <allow v='127.0.0.1 192.168.1.1 172.17.0.0/16'/>

  <!-- Network -->
  <proxy v=':8080'/>

  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
  <password v='<plain text remote command password>'/>

  <!-- Slot Control -->
  <pause-on-start v='true'/>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v='<plain text fah account passkey>'/>
  <team v='<fah account team>'/>
  <user v='<fah account user name>'/>

  <!-- Work Unit Control -->
  <next-unit-percentage v='100'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
    <pci-bus v='7'/>
    <pci-slot v='0'/>
  </slot>
</config>
(The pause-on-start option will make sure that the client won't start folding automatically, which is what I prefer for my clients - if you wanna use that is up to you of course. You can also set that as a slot option rather than a global option.)
Image

Ryzen 5800X / RTX 4090 / Windows 11
Ryzen 5600X / RTX 3070 Ti / Ubuntu 20.04
Ryzen 5600 / RTX 3060 Ti / Windows 11
SandyG
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:15 pm
Hardware configuration: 2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

[img]https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=1172112[/img]
Contact:

Re: Remote Server Options

Post by SandyG »

Thanks, gave it it try and the machine won't reboot after the changes :( Might have an unrelated issue as it's been on for a couple of years without a break! This is on an older celeron J4105 and about end of life for it and FAH, but would like to get the remote access going on the other 20 or so boxes.

Just out of curiosity I'm building a mining rig for FAH and looking at video cards, what type of gain do you see from the 3060ti vs the 3070ti? I think the way the pci buss is connected to the cards will be hamperd a bit but going to give it try, but not sure which card is a better value for processing. Likely will start a new thread on this once I get something up and running in the next couple of days.

Thanks

Sandy
2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

Image
PaulTV
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2021 4:53 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Remote Server Options

Post by PaulTV »

That must be unrelated indeed. FAHClient may fail to start on an invalid config.xml, but that won't fail the entire machine. Bummer, it's always nasty if computers start to misbehave, or refuse to behave at all.

There are lies, big lies, and statistics. Results depend on exact hardware, OS, etc, etc. The following is based on jobs for project 18601, which is on the high end for PPD.

3070 Ti:
* ROG STRIX, so factory OC (my gaming GPU before switching to and being blasted away by the 4090)
* max board power limited to 250W
* p18601 job finished in about 2:15, does about 5.5M PPD

3060 Ti:
* base model, selected for having only 1 PCIe power connector
* power limited to 160W
* p18601 job finished in about 3:10, does about 3.1M PPD
Image

Ryzen 5800X / RTX 4090 / Windows 11
Ryzen 5600X / RTX 3070 Ti / Ubuntu 20.04
Ryzen 5600 / RTX 3060 Ti / Windows 11
elblat
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 5:18 pm

Re: Remote Server Options

Post by elblat »

I do see a ~10-20% drop in PPD on 3070s when in a slower PCIe slot (PCIe3.0x16 vs PCIe2.0x4). Re-sizable BAR did not help.
Image
5800X + 4090 + Win11 | 5600X+ 3070 + 3070 + 2060 + Ubuntu 20.04 | 5600X + 3080 Ti + 3060 Ti + Ubuntu 20.04
SandyG
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:15 pm
Hardware configuration: 2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

[img]https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=1172112[/img]
Contact:

Re: Remote Server Options

Post by SandyG »

Going to start a new thread, finally got the Folding Machine going last night. Using a Mining Biostar TZ590-BTC Duo Motherboard that has a bunch of 1x and 1 8x slots. Picked up some adapters and tossed in a rtx3060 (standard) on a riser and 1x slot. O/S Windows 11 Pro. On the initial run looks like about 15-20% loss on the riser/pci slot vs the same card in an i9 machine running similar config.

Just an update, will create a new thread as I do have some questions for the pros ;)

Sandy
2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

Image
SandyG
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:15 pm
Hardware configuration: 2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

[img]https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=1172112[/img]
Contact:

Re: Remote Server Options

Post by SandyG »

Here's the link to the new post with the hardware information and some numbers for comparison with the same video card

viewtopic.php?t=38907

Sandy
2 Shuttle i9's with RTX3060, Old server mobo, Mint Linux with 2 RTX3090's and 2 RTX 4090. Dell 7920 RTX3060, RTX4070

Image
Post Reply