Page 1 of 1

Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2024 9:19 am
by arthurdn
1. I was registered in FAH more than 15 years ago.
I folded for many years.
One laptop was destroyed cause of this.
I stopped folding for many years.
Now I am using a script to do not destroy my laptop.

Why!?

Please! Implement a desired temperature during folding.
Not percentage of usage, not power limit. Temperature!
Cause donor knows recommended temperature for his CPU and GPU, not % usage and power limit for this.

2. If I am right, installation does not allow to choose - web or desktop client. Add such option, please.

My script is not the best:

Code: Select all

function LogMessage($message) {
  $timestamp = Get-Date -Format "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss"
  Write-Host ("{0}: {1}" -f $timestamp, $message)
}
while ($true) {
  LogMessage "Unpausing Folding@home"
  & 'C:\\Program Files (x86)\\FAHClient\\FAHClient.exe' --send-unpause  
  Start-Sleep -Seconds 25

  LogMessage "Pausing Folding@home"
  & 'C:\\Program Files (x86)\\FAHClient\\FAHClient.exe' --send-pause
  Start-Sleep -Seconds 10
}

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2024 10:10 am
by PaulTV
Unfortunately temperature sensors aren't standardized. In one of my machines I have a fairly cheap motherboard, and the standard Linux libraries (which are not installed by default) for sensing the temps don't work there. And I've also seen different output for different motherboards. And then there not just Linux, but also Windows and OS X.

Also, which sensor... CPU, or chipset, GPU... If CPU, CPU package or CPU hotspot of hottest core... Or GPU, the video card in my gaming rig has 3 temp sensors.

What I want to say is that the F@h client can't easily and reliably get the sensor temp from the OS, and it's not feasible for the devs to make a home grown method. If you look at HWinfo for example, that gets an update all the time for new hardware. It might be possible to have F@h check with HWinfo, if it runs, but then you are using Linux. I do understand your question, but unfortunately it's not a simple subject.

Hardware usually should throttle itself when it gets to hot. It may be possible to set the thresholds in BIOS, so that you can set the upper limit to a safer value than the default. But not all hardware allows for that level of control. If the hardware gets too hot and you cannot throttle via the BIOS, maybe the hardware isn't suited for folding. If you fold on both CPU and GPU, you may want to switch either of them. Laptops in particular have difficulties dissipating heat, you may be able to help it by raising it (if air inlet is in the bottom of the laptop), checking if it must be cleaned, etc.

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2024 9:54 pm
by calxalot

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2024 8:43 am
by arthurdn
Thanks, guys!

Is it possible to limit FAH significantly on other parameter?

P.S. Unit deadline should be long or task should be small.

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2024 12:44 am
by calxalot
You can change cpus from -1 to the desired number via FAHControl. I think Configure > Slots.

I get units that take less time using cpus 8 than, say, 16.

You can change the cause preference. Some may tend to have smaller work units. I don’t know which that would be.

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2024 12:45 am
by calxalot
There is no web client.

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2024 12:48 am
by calxalot
If your laptop does not have great cooling, you should only run cpu or gpu folding, not both. GPU folding cannot be throttled by the client. You’d need to power limit the GPU with some utility.

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2024 12:50 am
by calxalot
Your script will not work right. When you pause folding, all progress past the last checkpoint is lost. Rapid pause/unpause will result in zero progress.

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2024 1:53 pm
by promeneur
If you use Linux try this

How to get a silent and cold PC
viewtopic.php?t=37572

Re: Temperature control feature for FAH

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2024 7:21 am
by promeneur
For MS Windows, a clone of cpulimit

https://github.com/alquerci/cpulimit